Skip to main content

Arts, Music & Culture

The City of Garden Grove's Planning Services is currently hosting a Tree Art Contest! This contest is being held in conjunction with the department's development of an Urban Forest Management Plan (UFMP), that will act as a guide for enhancing and growing an urban forest in Garden Grove.

Local youth, K-12th grades, are invited to participate in the UFMP by entering their original artwork in the Tree Art Contest. By participating, students learn the importance of trees and how they impact the health and well-being of the environment and overall quality-of-life in the community.

Artwork must be submitted by 5:00 p.m., on Friday, May 1 and participants in each age category will have the chance to win $100 if their submission is chosen. For more information, visit the official website for the Tree Art Contest or click here to view the official flyer. Good luck!

Art

JOANN – JOANN is inviting community members to help make masks to donate to local hospitals and healthcare facilities. Visit the link for a variety of DIY resources to learn how to make masks at home. Need materials? Visit your local JOANN store (while practicing social distancing) for access to free supplies and tools to get you started (supplies limited on a first come, first serve basis). Once you have completed your masks, you can take them back to a JOANN store or donate them directly to your local healthcare facility.

You can also join JOANN on their Youtube channel every Wednesday for new craft ideas!

Michael’s – Michael’s will be live on Facebook every Wednesday, at 10:00 a.m. CST (8:00 a.m. PST), with a fun, family craft how-to.

Lunch Doodles with Mo Willems – Celebrated children’s book author and illustrator Mo Willems will be posting a new video every weekday at 1:00 p.m. EST (10:00 a.m. PST) and invites viewers to doodle along with him!

The Color – An online resource that provides a variety of free coloring pages for all ages.

Crafts by Amanda – Hundreds of DIY crafts.

Marvel Entertainment YouTube – Learn how to draw your friendly, neighborhood Spiderman from Brian Crosby, Creative Director of Themed Entertainment at Marvel.

Disney Instagram – Disney is using their Instagram to post live, “How to Draw” segments featuring character favorites like Olaf and Sven!

Miscellaneous

Westminster Arts Academy Studio – A local studio, offering paid, virtual classes in music, dance and art. While many of our classes are cancelled due to statewide mandates, the Westminster Arts Academy Studio is still offering the following classes virtually, sign up on ReGGister:

  • Music Fun Time!
  • Painting is Fun!
  • Piano is Fun!
  • Singing is Fun!
  • Pop Ballet!
  • Drawing is Fun!
  • Hip Hop is Fun!

Music

The Metropolitan Opera – The Metropolitan Opera is offering a free stream of past shows every night, at 7:30 p.m. EDT (4:30 PM PST). The featured shows will be pulled from the company’s Live in HD series and will be available for a period of 23 hours before a new show is posted.

Rockness Music – A Facebook page offering virtual music classes, birthday parties, and private lessons. They also have a daily livestream of music Monday - Friday at 10 AM EST (7 AM PST).

Dance

Marie’s Dance Ballet Academy – A local dance studio that offers paid, virtual dance classes. They will also be using their Instagram to live stream dance warm-ups for the whole family!